Fall Lookbook: Lace Up Leather

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg6.jpg

Hey everyone!

For those of you who may have missed last week’s post, or are new to this blog, welcome! This week is another installment of the new Fall Lookbook series that I started here on this blog! This week, I want to showcase how I play with texture in my outfits, especially when transitioning into a new season. Lace is  a very light and feminine fabric and is typically synonymous with the summer months. However, it’s quite easy to transform the piece into one that easily fits in the colder weather. I paired the dark, peplum-style top with a faux leather jacket and some wine-colored pants.  The faux leather compliments the dainty lace because it stays within the same color range, while providing a contrast  in fabrics, which I love to style. This pair of maroon pants serves to tie the look together because of the stark contrast in color, a color that we all have at least one item in our fall wardrobes.

I love the fact that this outfit breaks traditional fashion “norms”, and it’s representative of my ability to feel both powerful and feminine at the same time.  As the winter months approach,  this doesn’t mean that all of your summer clothes have to be forced into the back of your closet for another year. Outerwear– jackets, coats, sweaters ( and the list goes on), serve to keep your warm and relevant fashion-wise, while dressing up light fabrics like skirts or “summer/spring” blouses.  This week has been all about catching up on work, so having a day to dress up and walk around campus was exciting. I hope that this look inspires some of you out there! Tune in next week for another look into my fall weather wardrobe.

Check out my instagram @nicoleakerman if you are interested in knowing what I am up the rest of the week! You’ll never miss another post 😉

Top: H&M/ Jacket: Bernardo/ Pants: Lauren Conrad/ Flats: DSW

 

Until next week,

xx

Leave a Reply

